4 Unexpected Messages From My Long-COVID Symptoms

Were they wise warnings?

Anne Kennedy
6 min readSep 13, 2022

--

Photo courtesy of Fizkes, Shutterstock.

It’s 4:38 am on another sleepless night. I feel unsettled. Every hint of a noise makes all of my tiny hairs stand on end. I catch a flicker of movement. It’s above the window, in the furthest corner. But it couldn’t be. My mind must be playing tricks in the creepy light.

No there is definitely something moving right there. It’s above the curtains. Wait, what is that? I grab my phone to turn on the flashlight, and point it at the spot. It’s dark, festering, moving. Impossible. I gulp. I feel my heartbeat is throbbing in my fingers, down my sides. I’m sweating.

An idea pops into my head. I open Google.

Hallucinations, Long Covid.

And there it is. A common symptom. And not just hallucinations but terrifying ones.

It was about six weeks following my recovery. From that first dramatic jolt, it felt like Long-Covid was trying to send me messages.

As for what I saw that night, it felt like an insight into how ideas could be generated for the most disturbing images in horror films. I hate the whole genre and avoid it. If you also dislike horror please skip the next paragraph.

--

--

Anne Kennedy

I write about culture, feminism, and life lessons. MA International Studies, expert in dandelion root coffee.